Rise ‘N’ Shine, It’s Mofo Time!

Except that Vegan Mofo 2015 came and left without me.  I forgot to get on the bus. Last week as I researched it, I could not find a deadline for signing up, so, I went on my merry way. Apparently there WAS a deadline, and I missed it.

Boo.

But I’ll do it anyway and just tag everything, even though I won’t be on the official blogroll. Sorta like poaching. But not really.

I’ve already blogged my typical McDougall-ish breakfast of oats, so for the Day 1 Breakfast theme, I’ll go with a more race ready approach, and describe my super simple race day breakfast:

Cold cooked, spiced sweet potato.

Spiced Japanese Sweet Potato

Spiced Japanese Sweet Potato

Doesn’t get much simpler than that. Since race morning typically has me getting up super early and driving for awhile, I usually stick to this because I can easily eat it while driving. Breakfast isn’t really necessary for races, the muscles should be well stocked with glycogen from the day before. You can just show up, and start the regular fueling once underway. But if I have a couple of hours before the gun goes off, I like a little snack to restock the liver glycogen. A sweet potato is perfect.

Here’s hw I do it:

Cook up a couple sweet potatoes of any variety and color the night before. You can bake them, microwave them, boil, or steam them. Then chill them in the fridge until morning. You can eat the plain, out of hand, or for a little more flavor, cut in half and sprinkle with some spice.

  • Cinnamon and cloves for a sweet pumpkin pie taste
  • Curry powder
  • Chili and lime
  • Hot sauce
  • Miso
  • Currently, I like this Mexican fruit seasoning, which is chili, lime and salt.

That’s it. It also makes a good snack, and I always have another one hand for the drive home. It’s also a good breakfast for any kind of travel, especially if you don’t know if there will be compliant food.

About vegpedlr

Plant powered off-road triathlete
This entry was posted in Portable and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

