Vegan Unplugged Recipe Test

Moroccan veggies and couscous ready on the Westy stove

Moroccan veggies and couscous ready on the Westy stove

I have been quite inspired by Jon and Robin Robertson’s book Vegan Unplugged, formerly with a better title, Apocalypse Chow. (in my opinion)

There are at least a dozen recipes I would like to try, and a few more that gave me inspiration to modify a few of my own.

Wanting something spicy, but not necessarily hot, and exotic, not the usual I’ve been doing, Moroccan was just the ticket on a cold, rainy night in Ely, NV.

Here is how I did it:

Moroccan Veggie Stew with Couscous

1/4 C raisins

1/4 C other dried fruit, like apricots or a mix

1-2 cloves garlic minced

1/4 C dehydrated onion, or equivalent in fresh

1/2 t cinnamon

1/2 t cumin

1 t Moroccan spice blend like raw al hangout (if unavailable, increase other spices)

pinch red pepper flakes

black pepper

1 can diced tomatoes

1 can chickpeas

1 can green beans drained/rinsed

1 can sliced carrots drained/rinsed

Directions:

Prepare couscous according to package directions and set aside. Keep covered.

Begin cooking the onion in a little water to soften. Add fruit. Add tomatoes, chickpeas, and spices and simmer a few minutes. Add veggies and simmer until heated through and flavors have a chance to meld. Serve over couscous or rice.

NOTES:

This was my first recipe using canned veggies, and they turned out great. They are essentially already cooked, so the dish comes together fast. The problem with canned veggies is the high  sodium content. Try to find no salt or low salt versions. I drained and rinsed mine, like beans, hoping to remove some salt. I used raisins and goji berries, because that’s what I have on hand. The raisins are important, but whatever else is not.

About vegpedlr

Plant powered off-road triathlete
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegan Unplugged Recipe Test

  1. bscartabello says:

    This looks great – I love couscous with anything! I have been adding dried fruits & figs to a lot of my soups lately, and even my stuffed pepper recipe! They definitely add great flavor and texture. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. This dish looks fantastic! The addition of raisins sounds absolutely gorgeous. I’m definitely going to have to give your recipe a go! If you have a minute, I’d love your thoughts on my Moroccan ratatouille! 🙂 http://goodfoodmarsh.wordpress.com/2014/07/18/moroccan-ratatouille/

Leave a Reply

