Work With It Wednesday: Super Immunity Recipes

Super Immunity Cabbage Salad

Super Immunity Cabbage Salad

Triple Treat Cabbage Salad

(Super Immunity p. 208)

For this week’s Super Immunity recipe I went for a salad that could accompany my slow cooker soups. The name refers to three varieties of cabbage, green, purple, and savoy. I had to modify it because I can’t always find savoy cabbage. So I threw the finished salad onto some romaine. What I like about cabbage salads is that they can be dressed and refrigerated. They will last for a awhile, which lettuce based salads can’t do. They’re also good tossed with pasta for a salad, or as a filling for a san

dwich or wrap. I changed up the dressing as well by not peeling the apple and using walnuts instead of cashews because I know the Vitamix can handle it , and that’s my preference. I also seasoned it with salt and pepper and a little cider vinegar to balance out the sweet taste.

Here is How I Did It:

Ingredients:

1-2 C finely sliced green cabbage

1 C finely sliced purple cabbage

1 carrot, grated

1/2 red bell pepper, thinly sliced

a couple tablespoons each: currants or raisins, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, and sunflower seeds

Dressing:

1/2 C non-dairy milk

1 apple, cored

1/2 C walnuts

1 T balsamic vinegar (next time I will use cider vinegar)

water (as needed)

Directions:

Blend all dressing ingredients in a high speed blender or food processor until smooth and creamy. Add water to thin if desired. Toss everything in a large serving bowl, reserving some of the seeds for a garnish.

 

About vegpedlr

Plant powered off-road triathlete
This entry was posted in Salad, Vegetables/Sides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

