Retro Saturday: Potatoes au Gratin

Potatoes au Gratin, or Scalloped Potatoes, as you wish

Potatoes au Gratin, or Scalloped Potatoes, as you wish

One of my favorite family retro recipes I’ve wanted to update, veganize, and make healthy, is scalloped potatoes. I always loved these potatoes at holiday time, but I remember them as a saucy, cheesy, and while tasty, not artery friendly. Perhaps my favorite pre-vegan potato dish is Gratin Dauphinois, a similar potato casserole made with butter, cream or milk, and Swiss cheese. Mmmmm, uh, wait . .. NO!

I am a cheese addict, so like other addicts, I avoid anything that might trigger it. Swiss or Alpine cheeses are my favorites. So I have avoided this kind of dish for a long time. But lately I’ve wondered if something similar could be done. So I spent some time with Google and my old cookbooks and I discovered some possiblities. As I have recently learned, cashews, pumpkin seeds, soy milk, nutritional yeast, etc. can work wonders. So, with great thanks to the inimitable Susan Voisin of the Fat Free Vegan blog, I am well on my way to creating the ultimate healthy potato gratin.

Susan’s version can be found here.

Here is how I did it:

Ingredients:

6 small russet potatoes, peeled, sliced thinly on a mandoline

1 C water

1 C soy milk

1/3 C nutritional yeast (more for a cheesier taste)

1 T lemon juice

1/4 C raw cashews

1 t onion powder

1 t salt

1 t light miso

1/2 t garlic powder

paprika

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Make the sauce:

Combine all ingredients except for potatoes and paprika in a high speed blender or food processor and blend until smooth.

In a lightly oiled casserole dish, layer the sliced potatoes. Dust each layer with paprika and salt. Slowly pour the sauce over the potatoes so it penetrates the layers. Cover tightly and bake for an hour. Uncover and bake for another 15 minutes to toast the top.

NOTE:

Susan parboils the potato slices first, then assembles the dish and finishes it in the oven. That seemed like an unnecessary extra step, so I baked the whole thing. My dish came out drier than many, so if a saucier consistency is important to you, Susan’s way might be better.

About vegpedlr

Plant powered off-road triathlete
This entry was posted in Main Dish, Vegetables/Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

