Work With It Wednesday: Super Immunity Recipes

Green Leafy Moroccan Medley served over rice pilaf

Green Leafy Moroccan Medley served over rice pilaf

Green Leafy Moroccan Medley

adapted from Super Immunity, p. 228

G- greens: COLLARDS/CHARD

B- beans: NO

O- onions: ONIONS/GARLIC

M- mushrooms: YES

B- berries: YES

S- seeds NO

I like Moroccan spices, so this recipe was a natural for me. The original recipe called for mustard greens and collards, but the best greens in the market were collards and chard. I like to combine both cruciferous and non-cruciferous greens to get a better variety.

The Way I Made It:

2-3 cloves garlic, minced

1 small onion, chopped

1 C sliced mushrooms

1/2 red bellpepper, chopped

1 t or so each: coriander, cumin, and cinnamon

pinch of red pepper flakes

1 can diced, fire roasted tomatoes

1/2 bunch each chard and collards, chopped (maybe 2 cups each?)

1 can chickpeas (optional)

hnadful of goji berries

I sauteed the onion and garlic while prepping the mushrooms, then added the mushrooms and spices. I cooked the spices for a minute, adding a little water, then added the tomatoes and greens and simmered for about 20 minutes. I like my greens well cooked.

Now, I love Dr. Fuhrman, and I always learn a lot from him, but at heart I am a Starchivore and McDougaller. So this dish is incomplete without some starch. It’s also missing an essential G-BOMB, beans. For a main dish, I would add some cooked chickpeas. I would serve this over rice, potato or sweet potato.

About vegpedlr

Plant powered off-road triathlete
This entry was posted in Main Dish, Soup, Vegetables/Sides and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

