Work With It Wednesday: Steel Cut Oats

VLUU L210  / Samsung L210

I love me some oats.

I eat oatmeal for breakfast nearly every morning. I occasionally change it up, but oats are my morning staple. I mix in a bunch of things to my oats to turn it into a bit of a superfood scam. But I still like it.

Especially when I discovered that you don’t actually need to cook oats on the stove. Just soak them in hot water, and they’re ready by the time I finish my tea, or get where I’m going.

So I sorta feared steel cut oats. They take much longer to cook. I’ve got a routine, I didn’t want to disrupt it. Plus, I knew that steel cut oats have a very different texture. What if I didn’t like them?

But I got brave enough to give it a go, thanks to Vegan Mofo’s Work With It Wednesdays, and because I really wanted to try oats in a savory recipe, rather than the usual sweet and fruity breakfast. I’ve had my eye on this recipe from the healthy librarian for years:

Savory, Cheezy Oatmeal

Here is how I did it:

VLUU L210  / Samsung L210

Ingredients:

1 C steel cut oats

2 C water

1 C soy milk

1/4 C dried shiitake mushrooms, soaked briefly and stems trimmed

2 T nutritional yeast

1 t miso

1/2 t dry mustard

1/4 t turmeric

1-2 t BBQ seasoning/rub mix

dash of hot sauce

a couple grinds of pepper

BIG handful spinach, lightly steamed

Instructions:

Combine all ingredients except spinach in a saucepan and cook until oats are creamy and done. Top with steamed spinach. She calls this 4 servings, for me these are 2 vegpedlr servings.

Verdict:

I like the drier, chewier texture which is reminiscent of bulgur. They didn’t take forever to cook, thanks to Bob’s Red Mill making a a quick version of steel cut oats. I tried them savory as above, and also with my usual fruity superfood scam ingredients. I didn’t use sun dried tomatoes, and I don’t think I will. I added the miso and mustard because they work well with nutritional yeast for a savory, cheezy flavor.

But I’m psyched to try some savory variations:

Same as above, topped with a breakfast sausage flavored veggie burger as instructed by Jeff Novick.

Benedict Style:

Change the seasonings to mimic hollandaise flavors, topped with spinach and tomatoes.

Stay Tuned!

About vegpedlr

Plant powered off-road triathlete
This entry was posted in Main Dish, Starches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Work With It Wednesday: Steel Cut Oats

  1. Laura says:

    I like to soak steel cooked oats overnight and then heat them just enough to cook. I’ve never tried them in a savory recipe – but this looks really good!

Leave a Reply

