Mac ‘n’ Cheeze Monday: Isa’s Mac ‘n’ Trees

Isa Chandra Moskowitz's Mac 'n' Trees

Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s Mac ‘n’ Trees

It’s another Mac ‘n’ Cheeze Monday, and this one turned out much better even though I left out a key ingredient. My cheeze sauce last week was a bit lumpy and uninspiring. Plus the overall dish was lacking. I had broccoli as a side and realized that it would have been best just to combine it all. Lo, and behold, Isa Chandra Moskowitz already did it in Appetite for Reductiona cookbook I already love.

This recipe came together very easily, which was key as I needed to keep an eye on the football game. The differences from last week were the inclusion of some flour, and the instruction to mix dry ingredients together before adding water, and it did not use soy milk. My mistake? I forgot the mustard! I did notice it too.

Game Plan: (p. 184)


Put on a large pot of water to boil for the pasta.

While water boils, cut the broccoli into small pieces and wash.

Mix cheeze sauce dry ingredients, then add water and mix and beat out any lumps with a fork. Cook sauce in a small saucepan stirring and whisking A LOT.

Cook pasta, and note the time. With about five minutes remaining, add broccoli to pasta pot and finish cooking.

Drain pasta/broccoli mix.

Top with sauce, mix and serve.

I mixed all the pasta, broccoli, and sauce in a big mixing bowl and served it from there. I also added a dash of hot sauce, because that’s how I roll.

The recipe said four servings, but I only got two, which is usual for me.

I’ve surprised myself, I found a Mac ‘n’ Cheese recipe I actually like!

About vegpedlr

Plant powered off-road triathlete
This entry was posted in Main Dish, Starches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

